The collection is composed of letters to Sir G. Macdonald about Celtic place names in Ptolemy etc., 1915, 1993; a letter to C. Huntingon, 1944; and, an index of Celtic elements from The history of the Celtic place-names of Scotland compiled by Eric B. Basden.
Collection of Letters of Professor William John Watson (1865-1948)
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 237 Coll-531
- Dates of Creation1915-1978
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description4 letters Access to records in a fragile condition may be restricted.
- LocationDk.7.36; Gen. 2104/8/49; Phot. 1885
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William John Watson was born in 1865 and was the son of a blacksmith in Easter Ross. He studied at Aberdeen University, graduating with the degree of M.A., a Classical First. He was Rector of the Royal Academy in Inverness, 1894 to 1909, and then Rector of the Royal High School, Edinburgh, from 1909 until 1914. As a native speaker of Gaelic he was also interested in Celtic Studies and to the revival of Gaelic teaching in Scotland. In 1914 Watson was appointed Professor of Celtic Languages, Literature, History and Antiquities at Edinburgh University, a post which he held until 1938. He was succeeded in the Chair by his son, Professor James Carmichael Watson (1910-1942). The elder Watson's publications include Place names of Ross and Cromarty (1904), Gaelic prose (1915), Gaelic poetry (1918), History of the Celtic place-names of Scotland (1926), and Scottish verse from the book of the Dean of Lismore (1937). Professor William John Watson died on 9 March 1948. His son, Professor James Carmichael Watson, predeceased him, missing presumed killed in action with the Royal Navy in 1942.
Conditions Governing Access
Generally open for consultation to bona fide researchers, but please contact repository for details in advance.
Letter to Huntington, acquired from Rev. Msgr. C. Huntington, East Hampton, Long Island, New York, April 1982, Accession no. E82.26.
Note that when this record was created any associated photographic/illustrative was unseen, and the material at Dk.7.36 was not found.
The biographical/administrative history was compiled using the following material: (1) 'Obituary'. University of Edinburgh journal. Vol. 14. 1946-1949, p. 207. Edinburgh: Oliver and Boyd, 1949.
Compiled by Graeme D Eddie, Edinburgh University Library, Special Collections Division.
Other Finding Aids
Important finding aids generally are: the alphabetical Index to Manuscripts held at Edinburgh University Library, Special Collections and Archives, consisting of typed slips in sheaf binders and to which additions were made until 1987; and the Index to Accessions Since 1987.
Check the local Indexes for details of any additions.