Ashburnham Tinplate Works

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minute books 1915-1939, memorandum and articles of association 1915, list of directors c1939, register of members c1934, return form under Companies Act as to the company capital and shareholders 1932 and annexed return forms from other tin-works 1935-1936, seal register 1915-1938, share certificates and debentures 1915-1935, debenture deed: Ashburnham Tinplate Company to Lloyds Bank Limited 1929, register of debentures 1915, auditor's report and financial statements 1938, ledgers 1915-1950, petty cash book 1931-1940, account book 1931-1939, contracts book 1915-1939, wage-cost sheets 1938 and 1946-1947, wage-analysis sheets 1943-1944, mill yield sheets 1939-1941, weekly report sheet for Tin-house 1946-1947, weekly reports on coal consumption etc. 1946-1947, makes, yields and costs sheets 1946-1947, stock book 1935-1939, stock file 1940 and miscellaneous correspondence 1939-1947.

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1890 the works were established at Burry Port, Carmarthenshire by Lord Ashburnham, Messrs. W. Bevan (Chairman), D. Griffiths (Manager) and others. However in 1896 the works closed down.

In 1898 the works were purchased by Thomas Bowen and Company. The Ashburnham Tinplate Company was registered in 1915 and began to operate the works. In 1939 the works were acquired by the Llanelly Associated Tinplate Companies Limited and ceased to trade as a separate company.

Conditions Governing Access

Accessible to all researchers by appointment. Please note that somecollections contain sensitive information and access may be restricted.