Minutes 1899-1948; cashbooks 1901-1940.
The Gerard Trust
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Rev James Gerard Young DD (1821-99) was minister of the Parish of Monifieth from 1855-1899. The Gerard Trust resulted from provision made in his will for the establishment of a cottage hospital in Monifieth. The Gerard Cottage Hospital opened in October 1905 and operated under the management of a trust until July 1948 when its running was transferred to the Eastern Regional Hospital Board. The records deal particularly with the establishment and administration of the Gerard Cottage Hospital, Monifieth. The Hospital was closed in 1969 and the building was altered and extended to become St. Mary's residential home for the elderly, run by the Sisters of that Order and owned by the Diocese of Dunkeld.
Records are arranged chronologically within series.
Clinical information is closed for 100 years.
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, July 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
Location of Originals
The material is original.