This document was permanently loaned to the office in 1983 and was then assigned the accession number 2158.
It is a letter addressed from Ashdown park, which is situated in the parish of Ashbury, county Berkshire. Ashdown Park is the present manor house of Ashbury, the seat of Evelyn Countess of Craven. The park is over 100 acres in extent. The house was built c.1665 by William first Earl of Craven from designs possibly of John Webbe. The papers of the Craven family including a survey of Ashbury 1775-1785, accounts for work done at Ashdown Park late 18th century, survey of the Craven estates 1705, are held at Berkshire Record Office. The reference of the collection is D/EC.
Catalogued by Jeanette Grisold, December 1992.