Three printed share certificates of the Kent Water Works (incorporated 1809), signed by Samuel Taylor, clerk and secretary, and sealed with the embossed paper common seal of the company. Certificate 175 (7 Oct 1809) was owned by Folliot Scott Stokes of Shorter's Court, London; certificate 468 (17 Oct 1809) by Joseph Petty Toulmin of Lombard Street, London; and certificate 756 (17 Oct 1809) by Harry Ambrose [Hardy] of the Phoenix Fire Office, London. 175 is endorsed with a certificate, 22 Nov 1811, saying that all the instalments on the share had been paid.
Kent Water Works Company: share certificates
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 732
- Dates of Creation18091811
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description3 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
On the south side of the River Thames, in 1701, a wheel was constructed on the River Ravensbourne for the supply of water to Greenwich and Deptford, forming the Kent Water Works. The Works were incorporated in 1809.
Conditions Governing Access
Access to this collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the supervised environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Uncatalogued material may not be seen. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Bought from E. Hall in 1966 and 1967. MS.732/1 was formerly with MS.699; MSS.732/2-3 were formerly with MS.712.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
9¾" x 12". Certificate 756 (MS 732/3) is damaged.
Compiled by Sarah Aitchison as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
Further material relating to the Kent Water Works Company may be found at Lewisham Local Studies Centre and the London Metropolitan Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.