Parish records of Marton cum Moxby

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1539-1992 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1794-1812); register of marriages, 1539-1946; register of burials, 1539-1990 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1794-1812); register of services, 1930-1973; register of confirmations, 1928-1963; records concerning benefice income, including order for land exchange in Arram, 1881; churchwardens’ accounts, 1824-1886; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1863-1889, and magazines, 1935-1947.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Marton was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century, although the present church dates to the twelfth. The advowson was in the hands of the lords of the manor of Marton until the reign of King Stephen when Bertram de Bulmer granted it to his newly founded Augustinian Priory of Marton. It was subsequently appropriated to them but no vicarage was ordained there.

The priory held the advowson until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Archbishops of York. The living was augmented in 1779, 1790 and 1800.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Mary, dates to the early twelfth century. It was largely rebuilt, and a tower added, c.1540. It was restored under the direction of architect Ewan Christian in the 1880s and reopened in 1890.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of the Forest of Galtres, which also includes Farlington, Sheriff Hutton, Stillington and Sutton on the Forest.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1963 by the Parochial Church Council of Marton cum Moxby. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984 and 1992.

Note

The existence of a church at Marton was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century, although the present church dates to the twelfth. The advowson was in the hands of the lords of the manor of Marton until the reign of King Stephen when Bertram de Bulmer granted it to his newly founded Augustinian Priory of Marton. It was subsequently appropriated to them but no vicarage was ordained there.

The priory held the advowson until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Archbishops of York. The living was augmented in 1779, 1790 and 1800.

The parish church, which is dedicated to St Mary, dates to the early twelfth century. It was largely rebuilt, and a tower added, c.1540. It was restored under the direction of architect Ewan Christian in the 1880s and reopened in 1890.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of the Forest of Galtres, which also includes Farlington, Sheriff Hutton, Stillington and Sutton on the Forest.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1992.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1539-1992, marriages, 1539-1946, and burials, 1539-1990, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 735, 883).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 25.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For the register of confirmations, 1928-1963, see the parish records of Stillington.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193