As stated in the Introduction to this
catalogue, St. Margaret was originally
built as a chapel of ease to SS. Philip
and James, but eventually in 1896 St.
Margaret became parish church in its own
The following papers are exclusively
concerned with the early years of the
church, while it was still a chapel of
ease to SS. Philip and James. Other
papers relating to the church may be
found at PAR216/10/L1/2, PAR216/17/N1/4 and PAR216/17/X2/2-3 & 5.