Society records of the Methodist Church, Dunnington Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Trustees' meeting minute book, 1942-1966; Trustees' cash books, 1868-1969; collection journals, 1927-1968; general church and property accounts, 1977-1991; class books, containing directions for class leaders, rules of the Methodist Society and weekly accounts, 1923-1939; Sunday School records, including minutes, 1891-1922, cash books, 1879-1947, and roll books, 1912-1943; Wesley Guild roll book, 1933-1948; notebook giving details of Sunday services, 1934-1936; description of the foundation of the chapel in 1868, 1980s.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

The earliest reference to Methodism in Dunnington was in 1768 when a contribution was made to the Methodist Quarter Board. A Wesleyan Methodist Society was later formed there in 1791 and by the 1840s regular meetings were being held in private houses.

A Wesleyan chapel may have existed on York Street as early as 1805 but it was not until 1864 that land was obtained for the building of the present chapel in the village on Common Road. The Dunnington Wesleyan Methodist Church opened in November 1868 and remains the home of what is now known as Dunnington Methodist Church.

Originally part of the York, New Street Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Dunnington became part of the new York, Centenary Circuit from 1888. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, it continued as part of the York, Centenary Circuit of the single Methodist Connexion until 1981 when it joined York, South Circuit. In 2012 it became part of a single York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1998. Further additions were made to the archive in 2004, 2009 and 2013.

Note

The earliest reference to Methodism in Dunnington was in 1768 when a contribution was made to the Methodist Quarter Board. A Wesleyan Methodist Society was later formed there in 1791 and by the 1840s regular meetings were being held in private houses.

A Wesleyan chapel may have existed on York Street as early as 1805 but it was not until 1864 that land was obtained for the building of the present chapel in the village on Common Road. The Dunnington Wesleyan Methodist Church opened in November 1868 and remains the home of what is now known as Dunnington Methodist Church.

Originally part of the York, New Street Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Dunnington became part of the new York, Centenary Circuit from 1888. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, it continued as part of the York, Centenary Circuit of the single Methodist Connexion until 1981 when it joined York, South Circuit. In 2012 it became part of a single York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2009. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for York, New Street and York, Centenary Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and York, Centenary and York, South Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of both Centenary Circuits form a single archive (MRC/3).

Additional Information

Published

GB193