The desire of the Church to establish a Building Fund devoted to erecting a new
Chapel was first expressed in Dec. 1888 and the first committee meeting
took place on March 5, 1889.
The site known as `Hawkwell Farm' on Banbury Road, Summertown was puchased in
1891. The foundation stone of the new Church was laid in June 1893. The Church
was opened on Jan 25, 1894.