Record of hours of employment of Winding Enginemen at Wyndham/Western colliery
Wyndham/Western Colliery, Nantymoel, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Brogden and Sons opened Wyndham Colliery in the Ogmore Valley in 1865, but the colliery was soon bought by Colonel North and became part of North's Navigation Company. It was sold to the Cory Brothers in 1906 and later Powell Duffryn before nationalisation in 1947. In 1887 the nearby Western Colliery was sunk by the Ocean Coal Company. The two collieries were linked In 1965 after deepening of the shafts and merged to become Wyndham/Western Colliery. The colliery closed in January 1984.
Conditions Governing Access
Donated by a private individual April 2013.
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available at Glamorgan Archives.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Louise Hunt for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to 'Collieries of South Wales: 1', Cornwell, John, Landmark Publishing, 2001.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
Found at the mine after it was abandoned in 1984
Accruals are not expected.