Records relating to W. G. Penty, architect

Scope and Content

Correspondence, bills and tender relating to the construction of a house at Gate Fulford, York, by architect W. G. Penty for J. Hetherton, 1898; letter to J. Hetherton from York City Engineer concerning architectural changes to buildings on Museum Street, 1932.

Administrative / Biographical History

Walter Green Penty was born in Fulford in 1852, the son of Thomas Penty and his wife Maria Green. He studied architecture as a pupil of George Styan, York City Engineer, from 1867 to 1871, and then became principal draughtsman with W. Thomlinson of York.

In 1873 he established his own architectural practice in Clifford Street, York, moving in 1900 to Lendal Chambers on Lendal. His work in York includes the Technical College on Clifford Street, built for the York Institute of Science, Art and Literature, the flour mill now known as Rowntree Wharf, and the Terry Memorial Almshouses on Skeldergate. He also worked on the interior of York, St Martin Coney Street in 1899. He was elected Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 1889 and also served as President of the York Architectural Association.

Walter married Emma Seller in 1872 and the couple had at least nine children together. Two of their sons, Arthur Joseph (born in 1875) and Frederick Thomas (born in 1879) later joined their father’s practice.

Walter died in 1902 and his practice was continued by his son Frederick.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 2000.

Note

Walter Green Penty was born in Fulford in 1852, the son of Thomas Penty and his wife Maria Green. He studied architecture as a pupil of George Styan, York City Engineer, from 1867 to 1871, and then became principal draughtsman with W. Thomlinson of York.

In 1873 he established his own architectural practice in Clifford Street, York, moving in 1900 to Lendal Chambers on Lendal. His work in York includes the Technical College on Clifford Street, built for the York Institute of Science, Art and Literature, the flour mill now known as Rowntree Wharf, and the Terry Memorial Almshouses on Skeldergate. He also worked on the interior of York, St Martin Coney Street in 1899. He was elected Fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects in 1889 and also served as President of the York Architectural Association.

Walter married Emma Seller in 1872 and the couple had at least nine children together. Two of their sons, Arthur Joseph (born in 1875) and Frederick Thomas (born in 1879) later joined their father’s practice.

Walter died in 1902 and his practice was continued by his son Frederick.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 20.04.17.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Custodial History

This archive forms part of the University Library Manuscripts collection.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB193

Subjects