These are the records of Elmswood Maternity Home (ELM), 1914-1970.
Cradlehurst Home for Mothers and Infants was the predecessor to Elmswood, situated on Edge Lane, Liverpool, from 1913 until 1939. From 1907 to 1913 the Home had been called Chesterfield House.
Elmswood was situated on North Mossley Road, Liverpool, and was opened as a Maternity Home on 25 January 1940. Elmswood closed in 1969 and reopened as a Children's Home in June 1970, which closed in 1982.
ELM/4 includes the only known surviving records for The Hollies Industrial Home. These are two three yearly reports. The Hollies opened on Edge Lane, Liverpool in 1902 and closed in 1939. Cradlehurst was adjacent to The Hollies from 1913 to 1939, the proximity of the two Homes seems the most likely reason for the presence of these stray records in this collection.
The arrangement of the records is as follows:
ELM 1: Dedication registers and certificates, 1928-1966
ELM 2: Day books, 1938-1969
ELM 3: Statistics books, 1932-1949
ELM 4: Three yearly report book, 1914-1955
ELM 5: Report book, 1961-1962
ELM 6: Invitations, 1940-1970