- Memorandum and articles of association 1950;
- Liquidation papers 1963-64;
- Minutes of managing body 1950-1963.
Records of Commercial Restaurant (Govan) Ltd, Glasgow, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Incorporated as the Commercial Restaurant (Govan) Ltd in September 1950 , the company had previously been known as the Govan Commercial Restaurant , founded by wine and spirit merchant John Miller and restaurateur . The restaurant was located at 791 Govan Road, Glasgow, Scotland , and incorporated following the death of John Miller.
The directors appointed were Mr James Miller , Mrs Jeanie McDougall and Miss Agnes McLean Watson Miller . Application for public house and tobacco licenses were granted October 1950 and in 1951, Mrs James Miller was appointed director upon the death of her husband. In 1961, Messrs J & R Tennent Ltd , brewers of Glasgow, were invited to offer for the whole of the issued share capital of the company. The Board of Directors resigned and shares were transferred to West of Scotland Taverns Ltd , a subsidiary of J & R Tennent Ltd. In 1962, the dining room was converted into a lounge bar but in 1963 the company went into voluntary liquidation.
Sources: GB 0248 CRG 1/1/1 ; GB 0248 CRG 1/4/1-2 ; GB 0248 CRG 1/6/1
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
No known publications
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Hazel Rodgers, Scottish Brewing Archive Assistant, 16 March 2000. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Natalie Milne, Hub Archives Assistant, October 1 2001; Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 11 February 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 19 December 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 09 May 2012.