Papers of the Bulkeley Arms Hotel, 1902 - 1984, including accounts, 1937 - 1983. visitors books, 1902 - 1982. papers relating to hotel staff, 1949 - 1984. papers relating to alterations to hotel building, 1963 - 1979. memorabilia, 1900 - 1982, and miscellaneous papers, 1854 - 1975.
Bulkeley Arms Hotel, Beaumaris
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Bulkeley family was the leading Anglesey family in the seventeenth century. The hotel was built as a Georgian showpiece in 1832; it was designed by the architect Mr Hansom, and is situated in Castle Street, Beaumaris, Anglesey. In 1832, Princess Victoria stayed at the Bulkeley Arms Hotel, and there have been many other notable guests.
Arranged into the following: accounts; hotel guests; hotel staff; alterations to hotel building; miscellaneous documents; and memorabilia.
Mynediad cyfyngedig/Restricted access
Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)
Other Finding Aids
Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Some papers relating to the hotel staff, 1949-1984, are damaged by damp.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following sources were consulted in the compilation of this description: Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives, Bulkeley Arms Hotel, Beaumaris, 1985; Senior, Michael, Anglesey, The Island's Story (Llanrwst 1987), Hotel Finders UK & Ireland website (www.hotel-finders.demon.co.uk), viewed 12 June 2003; Dictionary of Welsh Biography down to 1940 (London, 1959); Nicholas, Thomas, Annals and Antiquities of the Counties and County Families of Wales (Baltimore, 1991 (fascimile of 1875 ed.); Anglesey Antiquarian Society and Field Club, Transactions 1939 and 1961; Richards, Melville, An Atlas of Anglesey (Anglesey Community Council, 1972).
Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.
Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected