A collection of 361 items, which includes, a small commonplace book containing farm and miscellaneous accounts and memoranda relative to a family living at Rhiw, Rowen, between 1758 and 1780; 'The Book of Accounts of the Church Wardens of the parish of Caerhun, 1786'; 'Parish of Caerhun Vestry Book, 1852'; a catalogue of manuscripts in the British Museum relating to the Morris brothers of Anglesey compiled by O. Gaianydd Williams; account book and registers of the members of the C.M. church at Rowen, 1842-1908; records of the Rowen Temperance Society, 1842-1890; registers of 'chapel and connexional property situated within the jurisdiction of the Monthly Meeting or Presbytery of the Vale of Conway', 1895-1906; essays, dramas, etc. submitted by O. G. W. for competition at various eisteddfodau, including his collection of the works of Sion Brwynog; transcripts of 'cywyddau' by Anglesey poets; drafts of lectures and articles on various subjects; notebooks containing miscellaneous notes on literary, religious and bibliographical topics, many of them of Anglesey interest; letters addressed to O. G. W. from J. Bodfan Anwyl, John Ballinger, 'Carneddog', J. H. Davies, O. M. Edwards, D. R. Hughes, London; E. Morgan Humphreys, D. D. Jenkins, Denbigh; Rev. G. Hartwell Jones, Nutfield; Rev. J. Cynddylan Jones, M. H. Jones, William Jones, M.P.; Sir Henry Lewis, Bangor; D. Rhys Phillips, Dr Thomas Richards, Bangor; Rev. Thomas Shankland, Bangor; [Sir] Ifor Williams, Dr J. Lloyd Williams, Bangor; and W. Gilbert Williams, Rhostryfan. Twelve of the items in the collection consist of the papers (mainly sermon notes) of the Rev. William Jones of Conwy.
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 GAI
- Dates of Creation1758-1935
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh English
- Physical Description367 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Owen Gaianydd Williams was a Calvinistic Methodist minister and an author. He was born 8 October 1865 in the parish of Llangwyllog, Anglesey. He worked on a farm until he was ten years old, when he had a serious accident which affected him for the rest of his life. He received his education under the Rev. Hugh Richards at Llannerch-y-medd, the Rev. R. M. Jones at Holyhead, and at the University College, Bangor. He was ordained in 1897 and became pastor of the churches of Rowen and Tyn-y-groes, near Conwy, where he remained until his death in 1928. He was an able preacher and a conscientious pastor who gave his services freely to all the people of the district. He was an historian and writer of some considerable merit and made a special study of the history and antiquities of his native county. He contributed to many periodicals and newspapers. He won several prizes at the local eisteddfodau on historical subjects and also acted as an adjudicator. He was married and had two sons and a daughter. He published 'Hanes Llanerchymedd a'i Henwogion' in Hanes a Chyfansoddiadau Arobryn Eisteddfod Llanerchymedd, (Cymdeithas Eisteddfod Mon, 1906); Ein Pobol Ieuainc. . ., (Caernarfon, 1906); Dafydd Jones o Drefriw, (Caernarfon, 1907); Dewis Aelod Seneddol: Drama Gymreig, (Conwy, 1910); Cymeriadau'r Hen Destament. . ., (Conwy, 1926).
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Purchased from the widow of Rev. Owen Gaianydd Williams, Rowen, Conway in 1929. Additional manuscripts were donated by Miss Mair Gaianydd Williams, daughter of Rev. O. Gaianydd Williams, in 1954.