Records of Glasgow School of Architecture

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minutes and papers of the Joint Committee; Financial records; Student records; Correspondence; Calendars and Prospectuses; Press cuttings

Administrative / Biographical History

The Glasgow School of Architecture was founded in 1904 as a joint venture by the Glasgow and West of Scotland Technical College and Glasgow School of Art. Classes were taught by staff from both institutions, the School of Art concentrating on the aesthetics and the Technical College on the practical aspects of building design. Professor Eugene Bourdon was recruited as Director of Architectural Studies and Professor of Architectural Design. The School was administered by a Joint Committee of representatives from both Colleges. The Joint Committee was dissolved in 1965, when the School of Art and the new University of Strathclyde set up their own separate courses.

Conditions Governing Access

Most records are open. However, to protect the privacy of living individuals, student records are closed for 75 years after graduation

Note

Located in University Archives, McCance building

Other Finding Aids

Typed list to item level

Archivist's Note

Archivist's note:Description prepared by Margaret Harrison, Jordanhill LibraryRules or Conventions:Description based on Scottish Archive Network guidelines, based on ISAD(G): General International Standard Archival Description, International Council on Archives (2nd edition, 2000). and Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names, National Council on Archives (1997)Date of descriptions:July 2007

Related Material

Records held in Glasgow School of Art