Comprises registers of baptism, confirmation, banns, marriages and burials; registers of services; records relating to church property and finances and Sunday school records.
Llanelian Parish Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CEP31
- Dates of Creation1589-1992
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description4 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The ancient parish had four townships: Bodlennyn (otherwise known as Tre'r Llan), Llaethfaen, Teyrdan, and Twynnan (otherwise known as Dolwen). The parish church is believed to have been founded in the sixth century by St. Elian. It was restored in 1859 and 1903.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Received from the parish by the Denbighshire Record Office in separate accesssions of 1977, 1992 and 1994. Transferred to the Conwy Archive Service in 2009.