Wrexham Rural District Council, records of

Scope and Content

Wrexham Rural District Council, Denbighshire, was established in 1895 under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. It contained the parishes of Abenbury, Acton, Allington, Bersham, Bieston, Borras Hovah, Borras Riffre, Broughton, Brymbo, Burton, Cacca Dutton, Cefn, Dutton Diffeth, Dutton-y-Bran, Erbistock, Erlas, Erddig, Esclusham Above, Esclusham Below, Eyton, Gourton, Gresford, Gwersyllt, Holt, Llay, Marchwiel, Minera, Penycae, Pickhill, Rhos, Ridley, Royton, Ruabon, Sesswick, Stansty, and Sutton. In 1935, the parishes of Acton and Stansty were absorbed by Wrexham Borough, while Llangollen Rural and Llantysilio were added to the district, from Llangollen rural district. The council was composed of councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from Wrexham Rural Sanitary Authority and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer, Surveyor and Rating Officer. Wrexham Rural District Council was abolished after local government reorganisation in 1974, being absorbed into Wrexham Maelor Borough Council and Glyndwr District Council, Clwyd.

Administrative / Biographical History

Deposited by the Clerk, Wrexham RDC, 1974; the Director of Administration, Wrexham Maelor Borough Council, 1974; and the Chief Executive, Wrexham Maelor Borough Council, 1986.


Arranged into the following groups: Clerk; Treasurer; Rating Officer; Housing Officer; Surveyor; Public Health Inspector; and Medical Officer of Health.

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see http://archives.denbighshire.gov.uk/visit-us/. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Archivist's Note

RDD/K/3/22- number not allocated

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Geographical Names