Scope and Content

Watlington Highway Board was formed in 1864 to takeover the responsibility of maintaining the highways from the parish vestry. It was abolished in 1894 when the newly formed Thame Rural District Council (RDC11) took over this responsibility.

Watlington consists of the following places:

Adwell, Aston Rowant, Assendon, Benson, Berrick Salome, Brightwell, Britwell Prior, Britwell Salome, Chalgrove, Chalford, Chinnor, Clare, Crowmarsh Battle, Crowell, Cuxham, Easington, Emmington, Ewelme, Goldar, Greenfield, Great Haseley, Little Haseley, Henton, Kingston Blount, Latchford, Lewknor, Lewknor Uphill, Nettlebed, Newington, Nuffield, Pishill, Postcomb, Pyrton, Rofford, Shirburn, South Weston, Standhill, Swyncombe, Stoke Talmage, Sydenham, Warborough, Warmscomb, Warpsgrove, Watlington and Wheatfield

The records were deposited as part of Acc 918 in December 1970, as part of Acc 1550 in 1967 and as part of Acc 1548 in November 1971 and originally catalogued as H.B. VIII. References were given to some items that have never been deposited. Recatalogued by Alison Smith in October 2018. A conspectus of old and new references is at the end of the catalogue.

Access Information