Papers of the Blanchard family

Scope and Content

The small number of papers relating to the Reverend John Blanchard and his family relate to his title to the curacy of Kilnwick, the vicarage of Lund and rectorial rights at Middleton-on-the-Wolds in the first three decades of the nineteenth century.

In more detail, the papers include a 1799 valuation of the vicarage and glebe lands in Lund allotted in lieu of tithes, 17 letters mostly about financial and local affairs in Lund, a valuation of the curacy and vicarage done around 1827 when John Blanchard died and was succeeded by his son, the appointment of John Blanchard to Lund as part of his marriage settlement and papers related to settlements after his death.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Blanchard family can be traced back in the Lund district to the early seventeenth century. At Barlby, the family owned the moated site of the medieval manor house from the 1780s and this passed down through the female line when Susannah Blanchard married Joseph Stringer, rebuilding the house there in the 1820s. The Barlby estate then stayed on that side of the family until the death of J B Stringer in 1919 (Allison, Victoria county history of Yorkshire, iii, pp.48, 64).

John Blanchard of Middleton and Driffield was born in 1760 and married Ann Radford. He was vicar of Lund in the 1790s and was awarded glebe land in lieu of tithes in 1799. He held 120 acres of land at Middleton on the Wolds and was rector with a number of rectorial rights such as cow pasturing. John and Ann Blanchard had at least three children, Ann (b.1787), John (b.1790) and Abraham (b.circa 1800). The latter was admitted to Jesus College, Cambridge in 1820 and took BA in 1825, but died at Sidmouth in 1827. John was John and Ann Blanchard's eldest son. He was admitted to Jesus College, Cambridge, 1808, taking BA in 1813 and being ordained at York the same year. He became MA in 1816 (Alumni Cantabrigienses, II, ii, p.292; Monumental Inscriptions: Middleton on the Wolds).

John Blanchard senior seems to have inherited wealth through marriage and he and his wife built a new vicarage at Lund in 1814. In 1826 he presented his eldest son to this vicarage and when he died a year later, in 1827, the younger John Blanchard also inherited the rectorial rights and duties at Middleton as well as all the land there. The younger John Blanchard had at least two children, Henry Dacre (b.1824) and another John (b.1827). The youngest John Blanchard was admitted to Trinity College, Cambridge 1846, took BA and MA and became canon of Burnsall in Yorkshire in the 1850s. Henry Dacre Blanchard was also admitted to Trinity College, Cambridge in 1842 and took BA 1847 and MA in 1853. On the death of his father in 1862 he became rector of Middleton until his own death in 1904. His wife, Catherine Anne Blanchard, was buried there in 1892. For 120 years grandfather, father and son held the vicarage at Lund and rectorial rights and land in Middleton. John Blanchard senior built the new vicarage at Lund, John Blanchard junior totally restored the church in 1853 and Henry Dacre Blanchard arranged for the donation of stained glass from Sir Tatton Sykes. At a very local level they left, as a family, a considerable mark on the ecclesiastical landscape of two East Riding villages (Alumni Cantabrigienses, II, ii, p. 292; Monumental Inscriptions: Middleton on the Wolds; Pevsner & Neave, York and the East Riding, pp. 607-8).

Access Information

Access will be granted to any accredited reader

Related Material

Hull University Archives:

U U DDCV(2)/86/41; DDFA/14/94, 242


  • Allison, K J (ed), Victoria county history of Yorkshire: East Riding (4 vols, 1969-1976)
  • Alumni Cantabrigienses (1940)
  • East Yorkshire Family History Society, Monumental Inscriptions: Middleton on the Wolds (n.d.)
  • Pevsner, N & Neave, D, The buildings of England: York and the East Riding (1995)