Society records of the Methodist Church, Huby Wesleyan Chapel

Scope and Content

Press cuttings concerning the laying of the foundation stone of the new chapel, 1894; leaflet regarding fundraising and the dedication of the new chapel, 1894; copy of application to sell the old chapel, 1894.

Administrative / Biographical History

A Wesleyan chapel was first built at Huby in 1801. It was situated in a farm yard at the rear of some houses and was not visible from the village steet, a disadvantage that was finally corrected in 1894 when a new chapel was built under the Easingwold Wesleyan Circuit Chapel Renovation Scheme.

The new site was donated by local landowner Mr Kilvington at the south end of the village. The chapel was designed by Mr Wills of Derby and a schoolroom was added in 1901.

Huby was part of the Easingwold Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion until c.1932 when, following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches it became part of the Easingwold Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion. In 1972 it became part of York, North Circuit.

The chapel was extensively refurbished in 1989. As of 2016, it is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the 1980s.

Note

A Wesleyan chapel was first built at Huby in 1801. It was situated in a farm yard at the rear of some houses and was not visible from the village steet, a disadvantage that was finally corrected in 1894 when a new chapel was built under the Easingwold Wesleyan Circuit Chapel Renovation Scheme.

The new site was donated by local landowner Mr Kilvington at the south end of the village. The chapel was designed by Mr Wills of Derby and a schoolroom was added in 1901.

Huby was part of the Easingwold Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion until c.1932 when, following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches it became part of the Easingwold Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion. In 1972 it became part of York, North Circuit.

The chapel was extensively refurbished in 1989. As of 2016, it is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Additional records of Huby Methodist Chapel, 1893-1895, are deposited at North Yorkshire Record Office (reference: R/M/EAW).

Circuit records for York, North Circuit and a small number of records relating to the Easingwold Circuit are deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The first forms part of: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1).

Additional Information

Published

GB193