Parish records of Sutton on the Forest

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1557-1648, 1665-1865 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1811-1812); register of marriages, 1557-1623, 1645-1647, 1665-1837; register of burials, 1557-1654, 1665-1756, 1760-1856 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1769-1812, ages only 1769-1810); register of services, 1903-1958; records concerning benefice income, including tithe agreement, 1615-1616, tithe accounts, 1813-1814, 1817, 1819, 1836-1837, tithe valuations, 1805-1806, 1809-1810, 1812, 1822, 1826, tithe rentals, 1807, 1813, 1820-1837, average tithe receipts, 1812-1835, and correspondence relating to the tithe valuations, 1813, 1821, 1825, 1837; charity accounts, including minutes for the United Charities of Sutton on the Forest, 1899-1996, accounts, 1767-1869, 1984-1997, and correspondence and papers, 1973-1997; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1692-1722, 1767-1868, 1873-1903, briefs, 1769-1812, 1821-1822, 1836-1839, fabric papers, 1956, 1981-1982, 1987-2004, and restoration accounts, 1877; records of incumbents, including benefice papers, 1994-1997, 2002; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1767-1812, and settlement certificate, 1770; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including list of books lent, 1694-1722, inventory of books, 19th century, and photographs of Huby and Sutton Show and Sutton Ladies Cricket Team, 1932-1936; school records, including copy of 1876 deed, 1994, letter book, 1942-1969, and correspondence and related papers, 1959-1987, 1992-1993; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes and papers, 1985-2004, accounts, 1948-1983, enclosure award, 1759, and magazines, 1988-2005 [with gaps].

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Sutton on the Forest was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. The patronage was held by the lords of the manor until the thirteenth century when Henry de Nevill granted the church to the Prior and Convent of Marton. It was appropriated to them in 1222 and a vicarage ordained there.

A new ordination was made by the Archbishop of York in 1372. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century the patronage passed to the Crown who subsequently granted it to the See of York.

The parish church, which is dedicated to All Hallows, dates to the thirteenth century but was largely rebuilt in 1877 when all but the fifteenth century tower and south wall of the nave was replaced. The architects were Messrs Atkinson of York. The church organ was installed in 1892 and was built by Forster and Andrews of Hull. There was a vicarage house present at the time of the dissolution of Marton Priory. The present vicarage was built in 1958.

The parish includes the township of Huby, which was the site of a chapel until the sixteenth century when it appears to have fallen into disuse. The parish is also notable for having had as its vicar Lawrence Sterne, the author of ‘Tristram Shandy,’ between 1738 and 1760.

Today Sutton on the Forest is part of the benefice of the Forest of Galtres, which also includes Marton in the Forest, Sheriff Hutton, Stillington and York, St Leonard.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1977 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1978, 1983, 1998, 2008, 2013 and 2015.

Note

The existence of a church at Sutton on the Forest was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. The patronage was held by the lords of the manor until the thirteenth century when Henry de Nevill granted the church to the Prior and Convent of Marton. It was appropriated to them in 1222 and a vicarage ordained there.

A new ordination was made by the Archbishop of York in 1372. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century the patronage passed to the Crown who subsequently granted it to the See of York.

The parish church, which is dedicated to All Hallows, dates to the thirteenth century but was largely rebuilt in 1877 when all but the fifteenth century tower and south wall of the nave was replaced. The architects were Messrs Atkinson of York. The church organ was installed in 1892 and was built by Forster and Andrews of Hull. There was a vicarage house present at the time of the dissolution of Marton Priory. The present vicarage was built in 1958.

The parish includes the township of Huby, which was the site of a chapel until the sixteenth century when it appears to have fallen into disuse. The parish is also notable for having had as its vicar Lawrence Sterne, the author of ‘Tristram Shandy,’ between 1738 and 1760.

Today Sutton on the Forest is part of the benefice of the Forest of Galtres, which also includes Marton in the Forest, Sheriff Hutton, Stillington and York, St Leonard.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2013.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1557-1954, marriages, 1557-1996, and burials, 1557-1963, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 792, 1804).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 14.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193