SHEARDOWN FARM, MALSHANGER, HAMPSHIRE, CHAPEL FARM, BERWICK ST. JOHN, WILTSHIRE

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Consists of farm account book 1902-1909; cash account book 1928-1929; lease 1909

Administrative / Biographical History

After the sale of the Malshanger Estate, the donor's family moved to Berwick St John in 1909 and became tenants to Albany Charlesworth. Easton Farm, purchased in 1920, was divided on the death of W. Follett into Easton Farm and Chapel Farm. Sheardown Farm, owing to its poor condition, was occupied rent-free for one year. Improvements were carried out and the Follett family persevered with sheep and corn. Although Easton Farm, was a better holding and proved more suitable for dairying, W Follett was not entirely satisfied with it

Farm size Sheardown Farm: 600 acres; very light, stony soil; tenants to Sir Wyndam Portal; Chapel Farm: 200 acres; good, sandy loam, rented from W Follett, owner-occupier of Easton Farm (508 acres)

Arrangement

  • 1 BOOKS OF ACCOUNT
  • 2 LEASES

Conditions Governing Access

Available for consultation

Acquisition Information

Presented on permanent deposit 1966 accession number 90

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available at the Museum of English Rural Life

Conditions Governing Use

Please contact the Archivist

Family Names