Marion Lomax

Scope and Content

Consists of letters and proofs relating to the published poetry works of Marion Lomax.

Administrative / Biographical History

Marion Lomax was born in 1953 in Newcastle, and grew up in Northumberland. After living in Berkshire for many years, she now divides her time between London and Aberdeen. She gained her doctorate from the University of York in 1983, and her study of Elizabethan and Jacobean drama was published by CUP in 1987. She has edited four plays by John Ford (OUP, 1995) and The Rover by Aphra Benn (New Mermaids, 1995), and is now Professor of English at St Mary's University College, Strawberry Hill, where she has taught since 1987. In 1981, she received an Eric Gregory Award from the Society of Authors, and won first prize in the Cheltenham Festival Poetry Competition. Her libretto for the opera Beyond Men and Dreams (composer, Bennett Hogg) was performed by the Royal Opera House Garden Venture in 1991. In 1993, she held a Hawthornden International Fellowship. Her first book of poems, The Peepshow Girl, appeared from Bloodaxe in 1989.

Related Material

BXB/2/7/192 and BXB/2/7/242