Neath General Hospital records

Scope and Content

The collection includes indexes of patients, registers of

maternity cases, records created by midwives and tuberculosis registers from

Cimla Hospital.

Administrative / Biographical History

Neath General Hospital was built in 1916 as Penrhiwtyn Infirmary. The infirmary was run by the poor law guardians and received medical cover from local doctors. After the Hospitals Act, 1924 responsibility for the hospital transferred to Glamorgan County Council and improvements were made, including the addition of Nightingale Wards. Ante-natal clinics in the area were started at the hospital sometime after 1924 by Dr Glyn Garfield. In 1948 Mid Glamorgan Hospital Management Committee took over the running of the hospital. After 1948, x-ray, pharmacy and pathology services at the hospital were developed. In 1950 the physiotherapy department was opened and in 1960 a third operating theatre, post-graduate medical centre and nurse training school were added. In 1972 the Glyn Garfield maternity unit was opened and in 1984 an outpatients' department was added. In December 2002 Neath General and Port Talbot General Hospitals merged and moved into the new Neath Port Talbot Hospital on a site at Baglan Moors.

Arrangement

The records were not found in any particular order and have therefore been arranged by function.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained. The most significant

record series were identified and taken in their entirety from the hospital.

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.

Related Material

See U/N 6/1-2 for minutes of Penrhiwtyn Infirmary committee, 1920-1930.