The collection, 1853-1924, contains letters to John Horace Round from various correspondents, working papers and reviews by Round. The material concerns various historical subjects.
Round, John Horace
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 924/613-694, /718-942
- Dates of Creation1880-1928
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description8 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
John Horace Round was born on 22 February 1854. He was educated at Balliol College, Oxford where he received an MA in modern history. He was Historical Adviser to the Crown in Peerage cases; Vice President of the Essex Archaeological Society, (President from 1916 to 1921) and Vice President of the English Place Name Society. He published many works of history including Geoffrey de Mandevill , 1892; The Commune of London , 1899; Calendar of Documents Preserved in France , 1899; Studies in Peerage and Family History , 1900; Peerage and Pedigree , 1910; The King's Sergeants , 1911. He also contributed to the Dictionary of National Biography , Victoria County History and to the English Historical Review . Round died on 24 June 1928.
Access to the items in the collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the controlled environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Access to some files may be restricted by the Freedom of Information Act. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Other Finding Aids
Catalogue of Manuscripts Deposited by the Institute of Historical Research.
Essex Record Office, Colchester Branch, holds papers relating to family history (Ref: D/DR), correspondence and papers (Ref: D/DRh), and letters to his cousin, the Rt Hon James Round, 1886-1896 (Ref: D/DR/C1); West Sussex Record Office, Chichester, has letters to Oswald Barron, 1901-1922 (Ref: Add MSS 732, 1319-21); the British Library, London, contains letters to Henry Ellis, 1901-1911 (Ref: Add MS 41319); Edinburgh University Library holds letters to James Orchard Halliwell-Phillipps, 1883-1886 (Ref: LOA); Glasgow University Library has letters to George Neilson (Ref: NRA(S) 0257); the Public Record Office, London, contains correspondence as a Historical Manuscripts Commission editor, 1893-1903 (Ref: HMC1); King's College London holds letters, 1913-1920, to George Charles Williamson (Ref: KCLCA K/PP52).
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.