Caernarfonshire Electoral Papers

Scope and Content

Caernarfonshire electoral papers, 1852-1895 including: 

  • Claims and objections relating to insertion in list of voters, 1852-1895
  • Letters to the Liberal agent relating to registration of voters, 1883-1895
  • Political letters, 1880-1895, relating in particular to the Liberal Party candidates. Includes letters to Mr. R.D. Williams of Porth yr Aur from Sir Thomas Love Jones-Parry and from Mr. W.A. Darbyshire of Nantlle, etc; letters to and from William Rathbone, M.P.

Administrative / Biographical History

Borough and general elections were held in Caernarfonshire, north Wales between 1852 and 1895. William Rathbone (1819-1902), philanthropist, merchant and radical politician was Member of Parliament for Caernarfonshire from 1880 to 1885 and for the Arfon Division 1885-1895. He retired as M.P. in 1895. Sir Thomas Love Duncombe Jones-Parry (1832-1891) of Madryn was Liberal M.P. for the Caernarfon Boroughs from 1882-1886 and the defeated candidate in 1886.


Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users


Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, August 2002.

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department, University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 1114-1125

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Related Material

Also held at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor are the North Wales Election Papers and Florence Nightingale Letters, the latter containing letters from Florence Nightingale to William Rathbone. Collection level descriptions are available on the Archives Hub .