The photographic copies were made from black and white photographs and postcards. Most of theimages are external views of Clifton with Glapton showing cottages, lanes and rural vistas. Thereare three interior views of St. Mary's Church, Clifton. Two events are represented; the planting ofa tree commemorating the coronation of King George VI (and showing a female member of the Cliftonfamily), and dancers around a Maypole on Clifton Green. The only other images depicting people are aview of the blacksmith's forge and a photograph annotated with the note 'Mr Ragley holding a leadenheart of one of the Clifton family who died on the battlefield'. The copies are annotated in pencilon the reverse.
Collection of views of Clifton, Nottinghamshire copied from picture postcards printedbetween about 1900 and 1950
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 MS 196
- Dates of Creation1970
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description36 photographs
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Clifton village is located about four miles south-west of Nottingham. In 1931, Clifton Hall wasthe seat of Lt Col Percy Robert Clifton, lord of the manor. The civil parish of Clifton with Glaptoncovered an area of 2040 acres and contained 311 inhabitants. Clifton and Glapton were separated bythe main Nottingham to Loughborough road.
The original order in which the photographic copies were acquired has been maintained.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Pending full cataloguing, access is limited andis possible only for registered readers by advance notice and agreement.
Other Finding Aids
This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright in thedescription belongs to The University of Nottingham. A draftcatalogue, in manuscript form, lists the images with descriptions of the subject material.
Conditions Governing Use
REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of any material from this collection must be soughtin advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections(email firstname.lastname@example.org). The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.
The collection was given to The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts by a memberof the University's Department of Architecture in February 1970. The photographic copies were madeby that department from original postcards supplied by an elderly resident of Clifton.