Parish records of Kirby Grindalythe

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1722-1873; register of marriages, 1722-2004; register of Burials, 1722-1917 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1799-1812); register of banns, 1824-1862; register of services, 1906-1968; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence and papers, 1883-1896, 1949-1950, 1957, and tithe letter, 1851; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1792-1870, fabric papers, 1826, 1830, 1876-1922, 1940-1952, and Duggleby church building papers, 1874; records of incumbents, including notes on parish, 'Annals of Kirby Grindalythe', 1870-1872, and estimate and specification for new parsonage house at Duggleby, 1874; overseers’ accounts, 1658-1715, 1724-1769; school accounts, 1898-1901; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including account, 1949, electoral roll, 1934-1954, enclosure agreement and extract from award, 1765, map of Kirby Grindalythe and Mowthorpe, 1755 and 19th century, map of Duggleby, 19th century, and parish valuation list, 1908.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Kirby Grindalythe from at least the twelfth century, when it was granted by Walter Espec to the Priory of Kirkham (founded c.1130), although a church is said to have existed there since Saxon times. A vicarage was subsequently ordained there, although the earliest known vicar of the church was instituted in 1305. The parish church is dedicated to St Andrew.

By 1617 the presentation to the benefice was in private hands, passing from the Towey family to the Osbaldestons in the 1720s and the Lillingstons in the 1770s. By 1842 it was in the hands of Sir Tatton Sykes.

The steeple of the church was damaged in the early eighteenth century and repaired in 1718. The church was in poor repair by the nineteenth century. The c hurch was re-roofed in the 1820s and the entire church was restored in the 1870s by architect George Edmund Street at the expense of Sir Tatton Sykes. It was restored again in the early twenty-first century.

As well as Kirby Grindalythe itself, the parish included Duggleby, High Mowthorpe, Low Mowthorpe and Thirkleby.

Today St Andrew’s Church is one of five within the benefice of Weaverthorpe with Helperthorpe, Luttons Ambo. Wharram le Street, and Kirby Grindalythe.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1968 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1972, 1977, 1979, 1984, 1995 and 2006.

Note

There was a church at Kirby Grindalythe from at least the twelfth century, when it was granted by Walter Espec to the Priory of Kirkham (founded c.1130), although a church is said to have existed there since Saxon times. A vicarage was subsequently ordained there, although the earliest known vicar of the church was instituted in 1305. The parish church is dedicated to St Andrew.

By 1617 the presentation to the benefice was in private hands, passing from the Towey family to the Osbaldestons in the 1720s and the Lillingstons in the 1770s. By 1842 it was in the hands of Sir Tatton Sykes.

The steeple of the church was damaged in the early eighteenth century and repaired in 1718. The church was in poor repair by the nineteenth century. The c hurch was re-roofed in the 1820s and the entire church was restored in the 1870s by architect George Edmund Street at the expense of Sir Tatton Sykes. It was restored again in the early twenty-first century.

As well as Kirby Grindalythe itself, the parish included Duggleby, High Mowthorpe, Low Mowthorpe and Thirkleby.

Today St Andrew’s Church is one of five within the benefice of Weaverthorpe with Helperthorpe, Luttons Ambo. Wharram le Street, and Kirby Grindalythe.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2006.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1722-1873, marriages, 1722-1885, burials, 1722-1885, and banns, 1824-1862, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 716, 1762).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 24.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193