Cowbridge Girls Secondary School, Records

Scope and Content

Cowbridge Girls Secondary School records comprising of governors minutes, 1927-1942; letter book, 1933-1936

Administrative / Biographical History

Cowbridge Girls High School was opened in 1896 as Cowbridge Intermediate School for Girls. In 1912 the school lost its autonomy and became Cowbridge County Secondary School. It was known unofficially as Cowbridge High School and, in 1950, this became its official name. Twelve boarders were accomodated, in a hotel provided for by John Bevan of Cowbridge, until 1939.

Arrangement

Arranged chronologically by record series

Conditions Governing Access

No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Gwyn and Gwyn solicitors, Cowbridge, 2003

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Annabel Wickham for the ANW Project; Sources used: Glamorgan Record Office finding aids

Conditions Governing Use

Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply

Appraisal Information

All records offered have been accepted and listed

Accruals

Accruals are possible