Dyffryn Clwyd Petty Sessional Division, records of

Scope and Content

Petty Sessions began at the beginning of the 18th century as extra meetings to lessen the burden on Justices of the Peace in Quarter Sessions. The normal practice was to subdivide a shire into geographical divisions with each magistrate being assigned to a particular division. The Sessions were held twice monthly in each division as opposed to the Quarter Sessions, which were held every three months.

The Petty Sessions dealt mainly with minor cases such as drunkenness, assaults, larceny, trespassing, fraud and juvenile cases, as well as ale licensing and adoption. They required the presence of two Justices of the Peace but no jury.

The Dyffryn Clwyd Division was formed in 1974 (new Clwyd Divisions post 1974) and covered areas previously under Denbigh, Isaled and Ruthin Denbighshire Divisions which existed pre 1974.

This collection includes: minute books, court registers, juvenile court registers and financial records.

Related material-

PSD/D- Denbigh Petty Session records ((1903-1974)

PSD/E- Isaled Petty Session records (1878-1974)

PSD/I-Ruthin Petty Session records (1907-1973)

For Juvenile Court Registers, Jun 1969-Dec 1971 see PSD/D/3/4; May 1974-Sep 1975 see PSD/D/3/5; Oct 1975-Dec 1977 see PSD/I/3/2

For Dyffryn Clwyd Register of Music and Dancing Licences, 1976-1981 see PSD/D/9/1


Petty Session records are arranged as follows-

Minutes; Court Registers; Juvenile Court Registers; Accounts; Registers of Licences; Register of habitual drunkards; Register of clubs; Miscellaneous Registers and Miscellaneous.

Access Information

100 year closure period