Parish records of Aberford

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1540-2005; register of marriages, 1540-2010; register of burials, 1540-2014 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme, ages only, for the years 1777-1812; register of confirmations, 1859-1920; register of services, 1998-2004; records concerning benefice income, including accounts of tithes, Easter dues, surplice fees, 1738-1775, 1799-1806, 1812, tithe papers, 1630, 1716, 1730, 1742, 1759, 1790-1814, 1891, 1921-1934, 1939, and rectory papers, 1720-55; charity records, including accounts, 1894-1937; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1856-1948, restoration papers, 1891-1893, and fabric papers, 1811-1814, 1860, 1905, 1930-1977; constables’ records, including accounts, 1746-1798; records of incumbents, including dilapidations, 1956, mortgage, 1952, statistical returns, 1911-1918, 1960, and animal remedies, 1787; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1796-1799; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including band fund accounts, 1907-1914, and Mothers' Union accounts, 1907-1914; school records, including title deeds, 1715, 1803, 1860, school book, 1716-1883, accounts, 1816-18178, school minute book, 1904-1949, correspondence and papers, 1898-1920, and Sunday School accounts, 1907-1914; surveyors’ records, including accounts, 1772-1798; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1800, 1886-2004, accounts, 1948-1963, 1966-1994, land and window tax, 1758, assessments paid, 1810-1812, and footpath plan, 1817; church visitors’ book, 1926-1987; parish magazines, 1887-2016; photographs and pictures of the church and parishioners, 19th-20th century.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of St Richard, or St Ricarius, Aberford, was in the patronage of the Lords of Ravensthorpe until 1331 when it was appropriated to Oriel College, Oxford, and a vicarage ordained therein. The benefice was augmented in 1739 and 1764 through Queen Anne’s Bounty. The church was substantially rebuilt in 1861 by the architect Anthony Salvin.

Historically, the parish has included the market town of Aberford and the townships of Parlington and Sturton Grange. From 1908, it also included Lotherton, previously in the parish of Sherburn in Elmet.

Charities connected to the parish include that of Lady Elizabeth Hastings who left funds to teach 30 free scholars and provide bread and wine for Holy Communion.

Today Aberford is part of the Sherbern in Elmet group of parishes, which also includes Sherbern in Elmet, Saxton, Micklefield and Barkston Ash. The patronage is still held by Oriel College, Oxford.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1983, 1985, 1999, 2008, 2011 and 2016.

Note

The church of St Richard, or St Ricarius, Aberford, was in the patronage of the Lords of Ravensthorpe until 1331 when it was appropriated to Oriel College, Oxford, and a vicarage ordained therein. The benefice was augmented in 1739 and 1764 through Queen Anne’s Bounty. The church was substantially rebuilt in 1861 by the architect Anthony Salvin.

Historically, the parish has included the market town of Aberford and the townships of Parlington and Sturton Grange. From 1908, it also included Lotherton, previously in the parish of Sherburn in Elmet.

Charities connected to the parish include that of Lady Elizabeth Hastings who left funds to teach 30 free scholars and provide bread and wine for Holy Communion.

Today Aberford is part of the Sherbern in Elmet group of parishes, which also includes Sherbern in Elmet, Saxton, Micklefield and Barkston Ash. The patronage is still held by Oriel College, Oxford.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2016. Later material has not yet been catalogued, please contact the Borthwick Institute for further information.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1540-1884, marriages, 1540-1936, and burials, 1540-1946, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 621).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.12.15. Updated 28.07.16 to include 2016 accession in scope and content.

Revised by S.Kent, September 2016.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Bibliography

The Thoresby Society, 'The Parish Register of Aberford, Co. York: (1540-1812).' Transcribed and edited by George Denison Lumb (1937).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193