The history of the Kniveton family at Osmaston is poorly documented. A Kniveton family of Mercaston, Derbyshire is better recorded, as a baronetage for that family was created on 29 June 1611 for William Kniveton (d.1632). His son, Sir Gilbert Kniveton of Mercaston, held property in Bradley, Derbyshire which his successor, Sir Andrew Kniveton, sold to the Meynell family. The baronetage became extinct following the death of the fourth baronet, Sir Thomas Kniveton, in about 1706. A different Thomas Kniveton is recorded as being elected coroner for Derbyshire in 1616 and is described as a 'gentleman' who was also coroner for the borough of Derby in 1639. William Knyveton (baronet) was a justice of the peace for Derbyshire in 1594, 1604 and 1624.
White's 1857 directory for Derbyshire affirms the connection between the Kniveton family with the village of Osmaston near Ashbourne, Derbyshire. In 1712, a Thomas Kniveton bequeathed the rent received from his lands for a sermon in Osmaston church to be given on Ascension Day and St. Thomas's day or, by default, to the poor. Matthew Kniveton died in the possession of the manor of Osmundestune [Osmaston] in 1562 and the manor later passed with the Kniveton's Bradley estate to the Meynells, suggesting a link with the Knivetons of Mercaston.
The Meynotts are referred to in several documents in this collection and seem to provide the key to the connection between the Knivetons and the Baileys. Rev. Edmund Meymott was the Rector of South Normanton, Derbyshire in the 1730s who purchased coal mines in the parish from Francis Revell. It seems likely that Meynott also owned land in Osmaston as well as South Normanton. He had at least three daughters, Susanna, Rebecca and Ann. Rebecca and Ann married men from Blidworth.
The history of the Bailey (or 'Baily' as it is spelt in some documents in this collection) family is equally unclear. James Bailey is recorded in White's 1832 directory of Nottinghamshire as a farmer and surveyor living on Pythorn Hill, Blidworth. William Bailey was a gentleman and a land valuer at Halam in 1932 and it is likely that James was his son. The bond in this collection demonstrates that there is certainly a connection between these two men. By 1855, it appears that James was succeeded by John Bailey as the farmer on Pythorn Hill, an occupation and address that he retained until at least 1881. By 1887, no Baileys are recorded as resident at Blidworth.