This collection mainly relates to the various improvement works undetaken in the nineteenth century and contain Accounts of the Winestead Level Drainage Board, including incomes and expenditure and some details of wages for 1774-1944 (not inclusive), Correspondence discussing the drainage (1797-1860), and Minutes of the Board (1811-1881). There are also various Notices advertising meetings and applications to Parliament, various Reports on Winestead Level Drainage, most significantly by William Iveson, Correspondence and material relating to the Winestead Level Drainage Act of 1867, as well as Miscellaneous material which includes appointments of commissioners.
Records of Winestead Level Drainage
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 50 U DWI
- Dates of Creation1774-1944
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 linear metre
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The parish of Winestead fronted onto the river Humber until the reclamation of Sunk Island and the North Channel in the 18th century. The lower lying area of the parish, bordered by Winestead fleet (later Winestead drain) along its south eastern edge, was known as Winestead level. In 1774 a new drainage authority for Winestead level was created by Act of Parliament and this undertook various improvement works during the 19th century, mainly the construction of new sluices. Winestead Level Drainage Board was still in existence in 1989.
U DWI/1 Accounts, 1774 - 1944
U DWI/2 Correspondence, 1797 - 1860
U DWI/3 Minutes, 1811 - 1898
U DWI/4 Notices, 1805 - 1864
U DWI/5 Reports, 1805 - 1865
U DWI/6 Winestead Level Drainage Act, 1867
U DWI/7 Miscellaneous, 1775 - 1870
Conditions Governing Access
Access will be granted to any accredited reader
Deposited by Messrs Crust, Todd & Mills, Solicitors, 1981. Donated via Donald Carrick, on the authority of Sandersons Solicitors (successor to Crust, Todd and Mills), June 1999.