- Partnership agreements 1819 and 1824;
- Partners' minutes 1841;
- Contracts of employment 1834-1836.
Records of Gilcomston Brewery Co, brewers and distillers, Aberdeen, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1819 a number of advocates and merchants in Aberdeen, Scotland formed a partnership in order to purchase, for the sum of GBP 6625, the heritable subjects at Gilcomston, Aberdeen , and the lease of the mill of Gilcomston. These were purchased from John Garrioch and others who had traded under the firm of William Black & Co . All the brewing utensils were purchased, and the partners continued the trade of brewing, selling porter and ale, and purchasing and manufacturing grain for brewing and sale. The company also proposed to open a separate distillery to be erected on the site of the then Miller's house. It was decided that this new firm be called the Gilcomston Brewery & Co . Gilcomston Brewery was still in existence in 1841, a copy minute of a meeting records an investigation into the financial situation of the company, but no more is known regarding the fate of the brewery to date.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Purchased by the Scottish Brewing Archive
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Scottish Brewing Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Fonds-level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), October 31 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 22 January 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 05 December 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 10 May 2012.