Bishop Gore School/ Swansea Grammar School Records

Scope and Content

Feoffee and trustee minutes, 1888-1894; bye laws of the school, 1851; log books, 1950, 1966-1982; registers of scholars, 1851-1894; admission registers, 1966-1993; pupil transfer forms, 1975-1978; pupil reports, 1856, n, d, c. [1881]; visitor book, 1954-1980; petty cash book, 1931-1948; school history and commemorative material, 1850-1983; photographs and papers relating to the opening of the school at De la Beche Road, 1952 and the opening of the new swimming pool, n. d. c. 1950s; inspection report, 1955; school magazines, 1897-1996; promotional material, 1897; photographs of sport teams, n. d., c. [1940s]-1966; photographs and newspaper cuttings of school plays, 1947-1959; photographs and papers relating to the Old Boys' Association, n. d., c. [1950s]-1969; photographs of the Old Gorian Society, 1946-1948 and other records, 1853-1968.

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1682, Hugh Gore, Bishop of Waterford and Lismore established and endowed a Free Grammar School for the bringing up and education of a certain number of children. The school was formerly known as the Free Grammar School, the Swansea Grammar School, and for a few years in the second half of the nineteenth century, as Bishop Gore Grammar School. In 1895, following the passing of the Welsh Intermediate Education Act of 1889, the school came under the control of the Intermediate and Technical Committee and was named Swansea Intermediate and Technical School for Boys. Under the terms of the Balfour Act of 1902, the running of the school was taken over by the town council acting as the Swansea Local Education Authority and became once more the Swansea Grammar School. In 1952 it was renamed Bishop Gore School, subsequently becoming in 1970 Bishop Gore Senior Comprehensive School for Boys, and in 1972, following amalgamation with Glanmor Girls School, Bishop Gore Senior Comprehensive Mixed School. With the coming into operation of the 1972 Local Government Act the administration of the school became, on 1 April 1974, the responsibility of the West Glamorgan County Council Education Authority. Originally situated in Goat Street, the school occupied a number of temporary premises in the first half of the nineteenth century. In 1853 new premises were opened at Mount Pleasant. The school moved to new buildings at Sketty in 1952.

Arrangement

Arranged into: Feoffees and trustees minutes, 1888-1894; Bye laws, 1851; Log books, 1950, 1966-1982; Registers of scholars, 1851-1894; Admission registers, 1966-1993; Letters, forms and lists, 1975-1978; Pupil reports, 1856, n, d, c. [1881]; Visitor book, 1954-1980; Petty cash book, 1931-1948; School history and commemorative material, 1850-1983; Photographs and papers relating to the opening of the school at De la Beche Road, 1952 and the opening of the new swimming pool, n. d. c. 1950s; Inspection report, 1955; School magazines, 1897-1996; Promotional material, 1897; Photographs of school premises, n, d. c. [1870]-1952; Photographs of teachers and pupils, 1895-1963; Photographs of sport teams, n. d., c. [1940s]-1966; Photographs and newspaper cuttings of school plays, 1947-1959; Photographs and papers relating to the Old Boys' Association, n. d., c. [1950s]-1969; Photographs of the Old Gorian Society, 1946-1948; Other records, 1853-1968

Conditions Governing Access

Items under 100 years old containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1998.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.

Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Education - Secondary Schools - Bishop Gore/Swansea Grammar School, catalogue; Bishop Gore School website (www.bishopgore.swansea.sch.uk), viewed 25 October 2005; Dictionary of Welsh Biography down to 1940 (London, 1959).

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

No information available.

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Further records are West Glamorgan Archive Service, D18, DD Z 154, DD Xgb. For other records relating to Swansea Grammar School, please see B S Corp; DD Xgb and DD Z 483.

Geographical Names