South Wales Police Authority records

Scope and Content

Plans of Public Houses in the Neath Port Talbot and Lliw Valley areas from the Licensing Justices department

Administrative / Biographical History

South Wales Constabulary was established in 1969 through the amalgamation of the Cardiff, Swansea, Merthyr and Glamorgan Constabularies. Since 1966 a Shadow Authority had existed to manage the changeover from the pre-existing constabularies. In 1969 this became the South Wales Police Authority, an independent body overseeing the Constabulary. From 1974 the Constabulary policed the counties of Mid, West and South Glamorgan. Since 1996 the Force has policed the unitary authorities of Swansea, Neath Port Talbot, Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Merthyr Tydfil and Cardiff. The Authority comprises 10 Councillors (nominated by their unitary authorities), three appointed Lay-Justice Members and six voluntary members (selected by the Councillor and Lay-Justice members), all serving for four years.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archives.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.


Accruals are possible.