One volume with manuscript catalogue of the Fine Arts Library, arranged alphabetically. Date and author uncertain.
University College, London, Library. Catalogue of the Fine Art Library
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 103 MS ADD 55
- Dates of Creationc1880s
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Library of University College London was originally planned on a grand scale. It was intendend to be housed in the southern of the three rooms opening off what is now the Flaxman Gallery. The Great Library was, however, for lack of funds, never completed and in 1837 the area designated for it was converted to the use of the boys' school. From 1828 to 1849 the library was housed in what was called the Small Library at the southern end of the building. In 1849 the books were moved into the splendid accommodation designed by T.L. Donaldson and called the General Library. From the first there were separate small subject libraries, such as the Law and Medical Libraries. The Fine Arts Library was housed in the Slade School from 1872 to 1898 when it was incorporated into the general collection.
The papers are available subject to the usual conditions of access to Archives and Manuscripts material, after the completion of a Reader's Undertaking.