Photocopies of letters of Annie Ffrench from Samoa while she was a missionary with the London Missionary Society to members of her family.
Letters of Annie Elizabeth Ffrench
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 150 DA16
- Dates of Creation1897-1901
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 envelope
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Annie Elizabeth Ffrench was a missionary who served with the London Missionary Society in the South Seas Field in Samoa. She was appointed in 1897 and her missionary service ended in 1904. The London Missionary Society was a Protestant, interdenominational society although it was principally congregationalist. It was renamed the Congregational Council for World Mission in 1966; and from 1980 it has been known as the Council for World Mission.
Reference: Norman Goodall, A History of the London Missionary Society ( Oxford University Press, 1954 ).
Conditions Governing Access
Open. Access to all bona fide researchers. All papers held at the Orchard Learning Resources Centre will be viewed at the Birmingham University Information Services, Special Collections Department. Please contact the University Archivist for further information.
This collection was deposited in the Orchard Learning Resources Centre in November 1992.
Other Finding Aids
Please see online catalogue for further details.
Conditions Governing Use
Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the University Archivist, Special Collections. Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Special Collections will assist where possible with identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
Following the merger of the Selly Oak Colleges and the University of Birmingham in 1999 the custodial ownership of collections belonging to the Selly Oak Colleges and held at the Orchard Learning and Resource Centre (OLRC) was transferred to the University. These collections now form part of the University's Special Collections Department and are available for consultation at the Main Library on the University's Edgbaston Campus.
Location of Originals
The originals are still in the possession of the family.