Plans of Victoria Mill c1853.
Messrs William Roberts and Co, Woollen Textile Manufacturer
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William Roberts established Victoria Mills, Galashiels in 1837 along with his brothers John, Hugh and Henry beside the Gala Water opposite the King's Hotel. They were the sons of "Willie Robb" Roberts who built the Waulkhead Mill in 1802. In 1885 John sold his interest to Henry, who became the sole proprieter. Henry died in 1891, and the business was carried on by his trustees until 1896 when his nephews William and Hugh took over and traded as William Roberts and Company.
The Mills burnt down on 26th June, 1905 and were never rebuilt. The site was used for the new building of the South of Scotland Technical College.
Conditions Governing Access
The collection is located at the Scottish Borders Campus, Galashiels.
Other Finding Aids
Computerised database available in the search room.
Descriptions compiled by Helen Taylor, Archivist, Heriot-Watt University.
Conditions Governing Use
Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents. Permission to publish material from the Archive must be sought in advance from the University Archivist. Responsibility for obtaining copyright clearance rests with the applicant.
The records were originally deposited with the Scottish College of Textiles, Galashiels.
Accruals not expected.
Location of Originals
The collection is original.
Galashiels: A Modern History. Galashiels History Committee and Ettrick and Lauderdale District Council, 1983.
Lawson, Margaret C. Forgotton Families of Galashiels. Meigle Printers, Galashiels.