Minutes, 1885-1925; Deacon's court minutes, 1849-1929; Communion roll, 1901-1930; Register of members and adherents, 1885-1893; Baptismal register, 1843-1886; Marriage register, 1843-1872 (also contains notes by J W Taylor and baptismal register, Grangemouth, 1839-1843); Formulae for elders and deacons, 1866-1922.
Records of Creich and Flisk Free and United Free Church
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/1582
- Dates of Creation1839-1930
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description8 volumes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The minister of Flisk parish church, Dr J W Taylor, came out at the Disruption in 1843. The Free Church adherents in Flisk and Creich and in the adjacent parts of Balmerino and Kilmany were formed into a congregation under Dr Taylor, and a church and manse was built in 1843-44. The mainly rural population of the area declined with the disappearance of handloom weaving. In 1900 the congregation became part of the United Free Church on the union of the Free Church of Scotland and the United Presbyterian Church, but the serving minister was appointed on a yearly basis only after 1917, and on the union of the United Free Church and the Chuch of Scotland in 1929 the congregation was united with Creich parish church under the designation Creich.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929, (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900, (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II; Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vol. 9 (Edinburgh, 1961).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.