Records of Llanddarog Parish Council, Carmarthenshire, 1883-1943, including treasurer's receipt and payment book, 1896-1943; and minute book, 1883-1939.
Llanddarog Parish Council Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 LLANDDAROG PC
- Dates of Creation1883-1943 (accumulated 1894-1943)
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Prior to 1894, monthly parish vestry meetings dealt with ecclesiastical matters, rates, and local issues. Parish councils were established by the Local Government Act 1894. Community councils replaced parish councils under local government reorganization in 1974.
Arranged in chronological order.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Mrs Gealy, Carmarthen, widow of Mr W Gealy, a former Clerk to the Parish Council, March 1982.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of the description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Catalogue of Llanddarog Parish Council Records; Collis, Kim, The West Glamorgan Archive Service, A Guide to the Collections (Swansea, 1998).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are expected