Notes relating to St Andrews Episcopal Church, St Andrews, found in copy of Historical Notes relating to The Episcopal Congregation at St Andrews by T.T. Oliphant, 1889-1901.
Miscellaneous notes relating to St Andrews Episcopal Church, St Andrews
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
T. T. Oliphant wrote a history of The Episcopal Church, St Andrews, entitled Historical Notes relating to the Episcopal Congregation at St Andrews.
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
These notes were found in a copy of 'Historical Notes relating to the Episcopal Congregation at St Andrews; from the time of the Revolution to the present day' by T.T. Oliphant (Edinburgh, 1896).The earliest extant records of St Andrews Episcopal Church, St Andrews (within the Scottish Episcopal Church), date from 1722 but the congregation was in existence from 1689 when Dr Richard Waddel (d 1718), Archdeacon of St Andrews was deprived of his post for refusal to recognise William of Orange as King. He was banished from St Andrews but returned and continued to minister to his congregation until 1703 when letters of horning were issued to removed him from St Andrews. In 1824 work was initiated on building a chapel for the congregation and it was duly consecrated in 1825. Although enlarged in 1853, the chapel had become too small by 1867 when a new church building was erected. The new church opened in 1869 and the debts incurred in building it were finally paid off in 1877. St Andrews Episcopal Church, St Andrews, is within the United Diocese of St Andrews, Dunkeld and Dunblane.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list available at Dundee University Archives. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Description compiled for the Hub by Sarah Bland, December 2006.