A typescript transcript of the Towns Book of Barrow from 1709 containing descriptions of the offices, duties and wages of a range of parish offices
The Town's Book of Barrow on Humber
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Barrow sits on the ancient Christian site of a Monastery founded by St. Chad.
The Town Book dates from 1553 to 1715. In 1697 the Harrison family moved to Barrow on Humber, Henry Harrison became parish clerk. His sons were to become famous clockmakers; James Harrison made the sundial that can still be found in Barrow on Humber's Holy Trinity Churchyard and his brother John Harrison invented the chronometer which changed the face of marine navigation.
Conditions Governing Access
Access will be granted to any accredited reader
Donated by M.W. Barley, 1938 who created the transcript.