3 books recording the names of Sunday preachers and other meetings held at Salem Chapel. Also, a list of preachers who served Salem from 1813-1864 and a history of the beginnings of Methodism in Tal-y-sarn dated 1921.
Salem Chapel, Llanllyfni Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS SCLL
- Dates of Creation1813-1921
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh.
- Physical Description5 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Salem Calvinistic Methodist Chapel in the village of Llanllyfni, Caernarfonshire received several visits from travelling preachers in the early 19th century. Amongst the great preachers who stepped behind it's pulpit were John Elias, Christmas Evans and John Jones, Tal-y-sarn.
Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Items presented to the Library by Mrs Ellen M. Jones on behalf of her father.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, February 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 434-437
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.
These manuscripts were once in the possession of Richard Owen, Eryri House, Tal-y-sarn.