Macmillan and Pan Macmillan

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 1840 RW/14/01/15
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      7 sub-files; 414 ff.

Scope and Content

Correspondence and associated material relating to Westall's work with Macmillan and later Pan Macmillan, concerning editorial and pre-publication processes, financial matters, rights, publicity and awards. Macmillan and Pan Macmillan were responsible for the first publication of 'The Machine Gunners' (1975), 'The Wind Eye' (1976), 'The Watch House' (1977), 'The Devil on the Road' (1978), 'Fathom Five' (1979), 'The Haunting of Chas McGill and other stories' (1983), 'The Cats of Seroster' (1984), 'Rachel and the Angel and other stories' (1986), 'Rosalie' (1988), 'Ghosts and Journeys' (1988), 'The Promise' (1990). Yaxley's cat' (1991), 'The Fearful Lovers' (1992) 'A Place for Me' (1993) 'The Witness' (1994), 'A Time of Fire' (1994.) and 'Cats' Whispers and Tales' (1996). Correspondence is addressed to Westall from various editorial, rights and publicity staff. Following the merger of Pan and Macmillan in 1990, subsequent correspondence was addressed to Westall from people who had worked at both Pan and Macmillan.

Corporate Names