This memoranda and account book contains details that would be of assistance in researchingaspects of farming in Ireland in the first quarter of the 18th century. Ash has fully documented hisexpenses, transactions and activities as well as collecting recipes for remedies for various humanand equine ailments. The volume contains writing in more than one hand, probably including those ofsome of his employees and certainly including people with whom he made agreements.
Memoranda and account book of Jonathan Ash, farmer in Ireland, 1706-1724
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 Fr 74
- Dates of Creation1706-1724
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description1 volume and a number of loose items
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Nothing has been ascertained about Jonathan Ash although evidence in the volume (such asplace-names) suggests that Ash farmed in what is now the Republic of Ireland. Ash was certainly anaffluent farmer contributing money to local churches and investing in the upkeep of his house. Theback of the volume contains many remedies for human and equine ailments. References to mountains andloughs suggest that Ash owned or rented a large area of farmland where sheep and cattle roamed.
The volume is arranged chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Not accessible, pending conversation.
REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Permission to make any published use of the volume must be sought in advance inwriting from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email firstname.lastname@example.org). The Department willtry to assist in identifying copyright owners but this is often difficult and the responsibility forcopyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishing to publish.
The volume was acquired by The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts and SpecialCollections in 1958.