Records of G.A. Lacy and Son, farmers of Newark Upon Trent, Nottinghamshire,1900-1944

Scope and Content

The collection comprises:

  • Student notebook of T.A. Lacy, compiled while he was at the Midland Agriculture and DairyInstitute, 1900-1901 (Fr 65).
  • Copy of a tithe survey and valuation of Newark-Upon-Trent 1842 (Fr 66/1).
  • Two bill posters advertising a farm sale and offering a reward for the capture of an arsonist,1912-1944 (Fr 66/2-3).
  • Account book of G.A. and T.A. Lacy, 1907-1944 (Fr 67).

The collection provides only a partial record of the agricultural activities of G.A. and T.ALacy. The first item in the collection (Fr 65) is in fact quite a different subject being a studentnotebook recording the subjects taught at the Midland Agriculture and Dairy Institute (later theUniversity of Nottingham's School of Agriculture) at the turn of the twentieth century. The accountbook (Fr 66) provides a clear and detailed record of expenditure for farm labour and receipts forthe sale of farm produce.

Administrative / Biographical History

George Allen Lacy is recorded as a farmer at 17 Queen's Road, Newark-Upon-Trent, in tradedirectories for 1894. G.A. Lacy and Son, who were probably tenant farmers, ceased farming in 1944.The account book for 1907 indicates that the Lacys' rented Barn Close and Bridge Close from a MissGilstrap and that T. Albert Lacy rented Tyes Close from Edith, Countess of Winchilsea andNottingham. Although T. Albert Lacy's relationship to George is not confirmed amongst these records,it is possible that he was George's son.

Arrangement

No arrangement has been necessary.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must besought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and SpecialCollections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk).The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can be difficult and theresponsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishingto publish.

LANGUAGE: English

Custodial History

The collection was acquired by The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts andSpecial Collections in July 1976.

Corporate Names