Farming records from The University of Nottingham's School of Agriculture at SuttonBonington, Nottinghamshire, 1738-1951

Scope and Content

The records in this collection comprise three distinct groups. The first group (Fr 1-37 and Fr55-58) are records of individual farms kept by different individuals and covering different areas ofthe region. They date primarily from the early twentieth century but some go back to themid-nineteenth century. The records were acquired by members of staff at the School of Agriculture.

The second group (Fr 38-54) apparently comprises records of the Schools' own farms.

A third group (Fr 76-87), a later accrual, consists of a number of fairly slight items withoutknown date, location or origin. One document comes from Hampstead and it is possible that others inthis miscellaneous group also have an origin quite outside the East Midlands.

In all, the collection provides only a partial record of the business and administration of thefarms in question. Together, however, they offer a range of evidence for the study of agricultureprimarily within the East Midlands.

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1893 University College Nottingham established a Department of Agriculture and with theassistance of a joint agricultural education committee made up of local government representatives,the Midland Dairy Institute was opened at Kingston Fields, Kingston-on-Soar, Nottinghamshire in1895. The Agricultural Department of University College moved to Kingston in 1900 to form theMidland Agricultural and Dairy Institute. In the same year, the Institute's affiliation withUniversity College ended and it became a college in its own right in 1906. Between 1919 and 1928,the college moved to a 100 acre site at Sutton Bonington, Nottinghamshire. University Collegeestablished a Faculty of Agriculture and Horticulture and created a Chair in Agriculture in1943.

On 1 April 1947, the Midland Agricultural College became the School of Agriculture of UniversityCollege. University College became The University of Nottingham in August 1948. By 2001, theUniversity's agricultural faculty had become the Division of Agriculture and Horticulture within theSchool of Biosceinces retaining its base at Sutton Bonington.

Farming records came into the hands of the college in two ways. First, there are records, mainlyaccounts rescued by members of staff of the College in the course of their work among the farmingcommunity in the East Midlands. Secondly, records from farms owned by the College itself have alsobeen preserved. The area represented includes Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland andLincolnshire.

Arrangement

The collection is divided into 30 series bringing documents of like provenance and type together.Within these series, items have been arranged chronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must besought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and SpecialCollections (email mss-library@nottingham.ac.uk).The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can often be difficultand the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the personwishing to publish.

LANGUAGE: English

Custodial History

The collection was transferred from The University of Nottingham's School of Agriculture to TheUniversity of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts in 1980. Further material was added in1989.