- Amalgamation and liquidation papers 1934-1936;
- Directors' annual reports and accounts to shareholders 1924 and 1926;
- Shareholding records 1889;
- Financial records 1903-1908;
- Production records 1908;
- Appointments and contracts of employment 1907;
- Correspondence related to staff issues 1928;
- Promotional material 1900-1914;
- Public relations records 1897 and 1983;
- Family tree 1785-1878 of the Disher Family;
- Biographical notes on William Stewart c1900;
- Photographs 1900-1920s;
- Historical notes 1922-1990.
Records of Edinburgh United Breweries Ltd, brewers, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 EUB
- Dates of Creation1889-1936
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.21 metres (1 box, 2 volumes)There are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Bell's Brewery, 40 Pleasance, Edinburgh. Edinburgh United Breweries Ltd was registered as a limited liability company in December 1889 to take over four Edinburgh brewing businesses: Robert Disher & Co, Edinburgh and Leith Brewery; Ritchie & Son, Bell's Brewery, Pleasance; Robin, MacMillan & Co, Summerhall Brewery, East Meadows; and David Nicolson, Palace Brewery, Abbey Mount, at a purchase price of GBP 320,000.
The Summerhall Brewery was subsequently sold. Bell's Brewery ceased to brew in 1934, being closed down by Customs and Excise due to irregularities in brewing, and was acquired by John Jeffrey & Co Ltd, Edinburgh. Court orders were issued in 1934 to wind up the company which was finally dissolved in 1943 .
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Secretary of the Brewers' Association of Scotland
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), October 31 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 16 January 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 05 December 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 10 May 2012.